Happy New 2014

Happy New Year people. Welcome to 2014. I hope you had a good holiday season. Here’s us at our New Years soiree.

1509056_10151799687506481_1006764049_n

In 2013 we played to lots of lovely folks all over Colorado, released our first single, video and live album: ‘Back to Life’. I toured Scotland and played some beautiful festivals and venues. Music not only paid for itself, but my income from singing songs tripled. I had the privilege of playing at some beautiful weddings, and taking my daughter to Scotland on a mother-daughter gigging tour.

Music opened so many doors to meet so many incredible people … including the folks from Jamestown who lost their homes in the flash-foods this year. They were so welcoming to us when we visited and played their marvelous little venue: The Jamestown Merc. (we’ll be back there January 18th)

We were reviewed in the The Huffington Post, played on BBC Radio Scotland, Amazing Radio UK, KFRC, KGNU, and many more stations, we got 4 out of 5 stars from Colorado’s Marquee Mag for our live album, shared the stage with our talented neighbors: A Boy and His Kite, to packed house in Colorado Springs. I had a large and rowdy crowd at my album release at Sleazy’s in Glasgow, sang to folks in a rehab and a retirement home. We also started recording latest offering: Love Songs … in short, loads of goals were met and great things happened. But, I find myself still so very dissatisfied. All the goals I hoped for were more than met, but I am ravenous to do more. To play better music, to make astounding, breath-taking recordings, to travel as much as possible, to hear music, to meet broken and mended people, to love deeper, forgive fully, appreciate my family more, to let go of ego, to grow into all the true self God has for me!! Phew … that was quite a rant. There’s much to do. The calendar for 2014 is filling up .. so here we go.

This year we hope to …

Finish and release our collection of Love Songs

Tour in Scotland in the summer

Play lots of good music all over Colorado

Here’s our calendar so you can see where we’ll be playing the upcoming months.

In closing, here’s a poem by C.S Lewis that’s been slaying me of late. Its a realization of how little we’ve grown, but also an offering of thanks for grace and love that are enough for us.

As the Ruin Falls

All this is flashy rhetoric about loving you.
I never had a selfless thought since I was born.
I am mercenary and self-seeking through and through:
I want God, you, all friends, merely to serve my turn.

Peace, re-assurance, pleasure, are the goals I seek,
I cannot crawl one inch outside my proper skin:
I talk of love –a scholar’s parrot may talk Greek–
But, self-imprisoned, always end where I begin.

Only that now you have taught me (but how late) my lack.
I see the chasm. And everything you are was making
My heart into a bridge by which I might get back
From exile, and grow man. And now the bridge is breaking.

For this I bless you as the ruin falls. The pains
You give me are more precious than all other gains.

Clive Staples Lewis

Leave a Reply

