Coming Back to Life

Round about June this past year I decided our band needed a theme song … a happy song … a pop song. So I wrote “Back to Life”. I played the song to the band, and “Yay!” they liked it.

In August we sat down with our friend Jesse Zimmerman, a local sound engineer, producer, and master of all things technical, and we discussed recording “Back to Life” as a single.

Jesse Zimmerman – our producer.

Jesse was up for it. We would borrow time from Immersive Studios (where Jesse works) to record. Jesse would do the mastering and mixing. I would plan an awesome kick-arse video, and we set ourselves a released date of January 1st 2013. New Year’s day, the perfect day for a song about new beginnings right?

Last night of the video shoot.

On September 17th we went into Immersive Studios for a nine hour, all night recording session. Then in October, after many planning meetings and much prop and costume gathering, we donned our circus outfits, put on silly makeup and wigs, and spent two full weekends making a music video.

The whole cast!

Now we’re in the final stages of mixing, mastering and editing and on New Year’s Day we’ll release our theme song and video … Back to Life.

Image
There was running and flag waving and much group dancing involved

Why “Back to Life”?

Back to life is a theme song for me because, well … frankly … in the last few years I died. Not physically of course (although at times it felt that way) but spiritually, mentally, emotionally … financially!!! Its a long story but my family and I … my friends and I … my community and I, we lived through some awful shit these past few years. For a while it felt like one tragedy after another was fated to befall us.

Kris and I lost our business to the economy and our home to foreclosure.  We lost one of closest friends to cancer, and another to suicide. Several of our best friends lived through divorce and tragic death. We lost time together, money, friendship, and often we lost sight of one another. This time a couple years ago I really wondered if my marriage would survive. I wondered if I would ever feel happy and alive again. Pretty dramatic shit huh?

But, to my wonder and surprise, we did come back to life. Kris and I found our love for one another again – not just the old one – but a new and better one. We started to make a little more money and moved past the horror of being so broke you wonder what you’re gonna eat next week. We grieved (and still grieve) our friends who passed. We forgave the ones who hurt us and, best of all, I find myself very much alive, of sound mind, and so very thankful for my family and friends. So, here I am, back alive.

The song and video come out January 1st. We will send you all a copy and post the video all over the cyber world. Thanks SO much to everyone for your help. We have had a wonderful collaboration of artists with Esther Cummings doing our photography, Becca Parrot as our visual art director, Darren and Melissa Thornberry playing music and displaying their acting skills. Jesse doing his magic with the audio-tech. Its been such a wonderful and redeeming process. I hope you all enjoy the song. Merry Christmas and be blessed!

Here’s some more pics of the video shoot days …

Israel getting ready to be in the show
Israel getting ready to be in the show
At the field getting ready to shoot
At the field getting ready to shoot
boys.
boys.
Our other band is called, "The Bearded Ladies". We rock.
Our other band is called, “The Bearded Ladies”. We rock.
Leyla Sparks circus child
Leyla Sparks circus child
The Bearded Ladies
The Bearded Ladies
Darren our Jester being cute with his flag
Darren our Jester being cute with his flag
Justice, the man on stilts
Justice, the man on stilts
Some cast members waiting to perform
Some cast members waiting to perform
One thought on “Coming Back to Life”

Leave a Reply

