Happy Birthday Mum

Mum Macindoe

My mum turns 64 today, so I thought I’d make a wee video of me singing “When I’m 64” by the Beatles.

this is Overtoun, the big house I grew up in.

When I was a kid we lived in a big house out in the countryside and lots of other people lived with us. It was a very nice, very musical, very creative environment to grow up in. Rock painting, hill walking, macrame, candle making, bread baking, group dancing, drama workshops and sharing bathrooms and food with strangers were all part of the norm (I know, this goes a long way toward explaining my current lifestyle choices)

There were also 3 pianos in our house and a constant plethora of  musicians.

This is a crowd of folks at our house – I’m the wee redhead at the front. My mum is right behind me in the blue dress.

In fact, I was so used to hippy-type guys sitting around our living room playing guitars, I actually told my primary school teacher that Bob Dylan lived at my house. Made sense to me at the time … all the other guitar strumming, deep and meaningful, song-singing guys lived at my house, so I naturally assumed Bob did too.

 

 

My parents also listened to the Beatles a lot. In fact, I was convinced John Lennon’s song “Imagine” was all about me. You see grown-ups were constantly telling me I daydreamed too much – so when he sang, “You may say I’m a dreamer…” I just assumed he was talking about yours truly.

Mum, Dad, me and big sis Ruth

The song “When I’m Sixty-Four” is an incredibly romantic number. It reminds me of my mum and dad who have managed to stick it out together for 4o years now , and they still “need and feed” each other, even in their sixties … so that’s lovely ain’t it?

When I was wee my favorite thing about my mum was that she wasn’t boring. At the park when other mums would sit on the bench and chat, my mum would hang upside-down from the monkey bars. At the beach while other mums would just lay there and sunbathe my mum would swim … and she could swim faster and hold her breath longer than all the dads! At school assemblies when the entire village was forced to mumble along to ancient hymns, picked out by our ancient school headmistress, my mum would belt them out at top volume causing all the village folks to redden up and be embarrassed for her … but she wasn’t … and it was great.

Dance workshops by mum – told you my childhood was interesting.

 

Happy birthday Mum – I hope you enjoy your sixties more than you ever imagined. Hope you have a great day and here’s a song for you. Thanks for having us grow up in such a musical, creative place, and for playing the Beatles a lot.

Oh yeaas, and that is my son Justice in the background of the video with his usual tom-foolery for your viewing pleasure!

 

 

Leave a Reply

